Details | Freedom House


Freedom House Annual Awards Dinner

On September 20, 2012, Freedom House hosted its Annual Awards Dinner with a keynote address from His Excellency Toomas Hendrik Ilves at the Newseum in Washington, DC. Freedom House honored Abdulhadi, Maryam, and Zainab Al-Khawaja, Senator Patrick J. Leahy and Levi Strauss & Co. for their contributions and dedication to freedom and democracy. Stay tuned for information on next year's Annual Awards Dinner.


Freedom Award
Abdulhadi, Maryam, and Zainab Al-Khawaja
Bahrain Center for Human Rights

Leadership Award
The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy (D-Vt)
United States Senator from Vermont

Corporate Leadership Award
Levi Strauss & Co.
Keynote Speaker
His Excellency Toomas Hendrik Ilves
President of the Republic of Estonia

Honorary Co-Chairs

The Honorable Jane Harman
The Honorable Colin Powell

About the Freedom House Annual Awards Dinner

Our Annual Awards Dinner honors the courage and achievements of those who have dedicated themselves to human freedom. The centerpiece of the evening is the presentation of the Freedom Award, an acknowledgment begun by Freedom House in 1943 to extol recipients’ invaluable contribution to the cause of freedom and democracy. Prior Freedom Award honorees include Vaclav Havel, Winston Churchill, Edward R. Murrow, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, and the 2011 recipient, Aung San Suu Kyi.

For more information or to discuss a donation, please contact [email protected] or call (202) 747-7028.