2017 Awards Dinner | Freedom House

For over 75 years, Freedom House has challenged unjust governments, defended civil liberties at home and abroad, and provided support for frontline activists bravely striving for fundamental freedoms. Our Annual Awards Dinner honors courageous individuals and innovative organizations that have made significant contributions to the cause of human rights and democracy.

The centerpiece of the evening will be the presentation of our Freedom Award, an acknowledgement begun by Freedom House in 1943 to recognize outstanding leaders in the cause of freedom and democracy. Past Freedom Award recipients included Vaclav Havel, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, Edward R. Murrow and Aung San Suu Kyi. A list of past winners can be found here.

This event will also celebrate notable accomplishments by other individuals and organizations:

  • Leadership Award—This award recognizes an elected official who has championed policies that protect human rights defenders and promote democratic values and the rule of law.
  • Corporate Award — The Corporate Award honors a business for its leadership and principled policies with regard to human rights.
  • Raising Awareness Award This award is given in honor of those who have called attention to and influenced opinion on human rights abuses.

Event Detail

Thursday, April 27, 2017

The Newseum
555 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20001

6:30 p.m. – Cocktail Reception
7:30 p.m. – Dinner and Program

For more information, please contact
Shannon Donohoe at [email protected]

2017 Honorees

Freedom Award

Luis Almagro

Secretary General, Organization of American States
In recognition of his work on behalf of Venezuelan political prisoners.

Leadership Award

U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.)

In recognition of his long-standing support of foreign policy that promotes democracy.

Leadership Award

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

In recognition of her commitment to defending human rights at home and abroad.

Raising Awareness Award

Richard Gere

In recognition of his advocacy on behalf of the Tibetan people.

Corporate Leadership Award


In recognition of their leadership in advancing global supply chain transparency. Award to be accepted by Stefan Persson, chairman of the board.

Corporate Leadership Award


In recognition of their commitment to the advancement of the rule of law. Award to be accepted by Chief Executive Officer Mike Walsh.


Freedom Defender


Freedom Supporter

Andy Prozes and Laura Heery Prozes


Freedom Advocate

BAE Systems
Jeffrey Hirschberg & Frann Lichtenstein
Motion Picture Association of America
Northeast Maglev
Olin and Nadine Wethington


Guardian of Freedom

Goli, Darius & Sherwin Ameri
David Fogel
Ford Motor Company
Rebecca Haile
The Honorable Richard and Faith Morningstar
Maurice A. Perkins & the American Council of Life Insurers
Mason Slaine
The Walt Disney Company
Will and Judy Taft


Friend of Freedom

Brillembourg-Ochoa Family Foundation
Judy and Kim Davis
DLA Piper
Kenneth I. Juster
Theodore N. Mirvis
Northrop Grumman
Dr. Sushma Palmer in memory of Ambassador Mark Palmer


Become a Sponsor

Sponsorship Packages

Download PDF

freedom defender sponsor level freedom supporter sponsor level freedom advocate sponsor level guardian of freedom sponsor level
16 Gala tickets (2 Tables), Premium Seating with VIPs 8 Gala tickets (1 Table), Preferred Seating with VIPs 8 Gala tickets (1 Table) 8 Gala tickets (1 Table) 4 Gala tickets (Half Table)
Full page ad in program; name + logo listed on event website, event invitation, press release, social media Half page ad in program; name + logo listed on event website, event invitation, press release, social media Half page ad in program; name listed on event website, event invitation, press release; name listed on social media Quarter page ad in program; name listed on event website, program, press release, social media Name listed on program, event website, social media
Premium recognition on event signage Prominent recognition on signage Name + logo listed on signage Name + logo listed on signage
Podium recognition as Leading Sponsor Prominent recognition from the podium Recognition from the podium

Honorary Congressional Host Committee

Rep. Joyce Beatty

Rep. Ami Bera

Rep. Gus Bilirakis

Rep. Rob Bishop

Sen. Richard Blumenthal

Rep. Earl Blumenauer

Rep. Madeleine Bordallo

Rep. Brendan Boyle

Rep. Robert Brady

Sen. Richard Burr

Rep. Michael E. Capuano

Sen. Benjamin Cardin

Sen. Robert P. Casey, Jr.

Rep. Steve Chabot

Sen. Thad Cochran

Rep. Gerry Connolly

Rep. Joe Courtney

Rep. Susan Delbene

Rep. Ted Deutch

Rep. Lloyd Doggett

Rep. Mike Doyle

Rep. Eliot Engel

Rep. Anna G. Eshoo

Sen. Dianne Feinstein

Rep. Lois Frankel

Rep. Mike Gallagher

Rep. John Garamendi

Rep. Tom Garrett

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand

Rep. Raul M. Grijalva

Rep. Alcee L. Hastings

Sen. Tim Kaine

Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee

Rep. Hank Johnson

Rep. Jim Langevin

Rep. Brenda Lawrence

Sen. Patrick Leahy

Rep. Barbara Lee

Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney

Sen. Edward J. Markey

Rep. Jim McGovern

Rep. Mark Meadows

Rep. Gregory Meeks

Sen. Bob Menendez

Sen. Jeffery A. Merkley

Rep. Seth Moulton

Sen. Chris Murphy

Sen. Patty Murray

Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton

Rep. Jimmy Panetta

Rep. Chellie Pingree

Rep. Ted Poe

Sen. James Risch

Rep. Gregorio Sablan

Rep. Adam Schiff

Sen. Jeanne Shaheen

Rep. Albio Sires

Rep. Jackie Speier

Rep. Chris Stewart

Sen. Thom Tillis

Rep. Norma Torres

Rep. Tim Walz

Rep. Maxine Waters

Rep. Randy Weber

Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse

Sen. Roger F. Wicker

Rep. Lee Zeldin