Our Board and Staff

Freedom House is led by President Michael J. Abramowitz. The daily work of the organization is conducted by its approximately 150 staff members in Washington, New York, and field offices around the world.

The organization's non-partisan Board of Trustees is comprised of prominent business and labor leaders, former diplomats and senior government officials, scholars, and journalists. They all share a steadfast commitment to the mission of Freedom House and to the belief that the promotion of democracy and human rights is essential for international peace.

Board of Trustees

D. Jeffrey HirschbergActing Chair
Peter Bass, Treasurer

Carol C. Adelman
Zainab Al-Suwaij
Goli Ameri
Stephen E. Biegun
David E. Birenbaum
Ellen Blackler
Dennis C. Blair
Paula J. Dobriansky
Jørgen Ejbøl
Martin Etchevers
David L. Fogel
Alison B. Fortier
Susan Ginsburg
Rebecca G. Haile
Jeffrey Herbst
Jim Kolbe
Ross LaJeunesse
Faith Morningstar​
Monde Muyangwa
Sushma Palmer
Maurice A. Perkins
Michael Pillsbury
Andrew Prozes
Jorge Quiroga
Olin Wethington

Executive Staff

Michael J. Abramowitz, President
Lisa Dickieson, Senior Vice President, International Programs
Robert Herman, Senior Adviser, Policy
Arch Puddington, Distinguished Fellow for Democracy Studies
Mark MoyerChief Financial Officer
Nicole Surber, Chief Development Officer
Vanessa Tucker, Vice President, Analysis


Senior Staff

Marc Behrendt, Director, Europe and Eurasia programs
Annie Wilcox Boyajian, Advocacy Manager
Jenai Cox, Senior Program Manager, Africa programs
Jennifer Dunham, Director of Research, Freedom in the World & Freedom of the Press 
Dohki Fassihian, Senior Program Manager, Middle East and North Africa programs
Lauren Galacia, Program Manager, Asia programs
Paul Graham, Project Director, Southern Africa
Danya Greenfield, Program Manager for Lifeline
Ariel Herrera, Program Manager, Dignity for All
Vytis Jurkonis, Project Director, Vilnius office
Sanja KellyDirector, Freedom on the Net
Lisa Lewis, Director, Human Resources
Sheryl Mendez, Program Manager, Emergency Assistance Programs 
Mindy Michels, Program Manager, Dignity for All
Sofya OrloskyProgram Manager, Eurasia programs
Vukasin Petrovic, Senior Director for Program Strategy, Development and Learning
Carlos Ponce, Director, Latin America programs
Sarah Repucci, Senior Director for Global Publications
Robert Ruby, Director, Communications
Nate Schenkkan, Project Director, Nations in Transit
Adrian Shahbaz, Research Manager, Freedom on the Net
Mai Truong, Program Manager, Freedom on the Net