Report page - Acknowledgments | Freedom House


You are here

Read a Country or a Territory Report

Completion of the Freedom on the Net publication would not have been possible without the tireless efforts of the following people.

As managing editor, Sanja Kelly directed the research, editorial, and administrative operations for the project, supported by Asia research analyst and assistant editor Sarah Cook. Together, they provided essential research and analysis, edited the country reports, and conducted field visits in Turkey, Malaysia, and South Africa. Over 40 external consultants served as report authors and advisors, and made an outstanding contribution by producing informed analyses of a highly diverse group of countries and complex set of issues. Tyler Roylance copyedited the volume and provided critical editorial and analytical insight throughout. Interns Abha Parekh and Sabrina Baum provided indispensable research, editorial, and administrative assistance.

General oversight was provided by Christopher Walker, director of studies. Helpful contributions and insights were made by Daniel Calingaert, deputy director of programs, Robert Guerra, internet freedom project director, as well as other Freedom House staff in the United States and abroad including Jake Dizard, Karin Karlekar, Rashweat Mukundu, Matthew Brady, Viviana Giacaman, Sherif Mansour, Miwa Kubosaki, Piet Khaidir, Julie Middleton, and Kerryn Shewitz. Experts from the Center for Democracy and Technology—Leslie Harris, Jim Dempsey, and Cynthia Wong—also provided valuable feedback.

This publication was produced with the generous assistance of the United Nations Democracy Fund (UNDEF) and Google. Additional contributions were also made by the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The content of the publication is the sole responsibility of Freedom House and does not necessarily reflect the views of the United Nations, UNDEF or its Advisory Board, Google, the Dutch Ministry, USAID, or any other funder.