Freedom on the Net 2014 - Contributors | Freedom House


Freedom on the Net 2014

Freedom House Research Team

Sanja Kelly, Project Director, Freedom on the Net

Mai Truong, Program Officer and Research Analyst (Africa), Freedom on the Net

Madeline Earp, Research Analyst (Asia), Freedom on the Net

Laura Reed, Research Analyst (Eurasia & EU), Freedom on the Net

Adrian Shahbaz, Research Analyst (MENA & EU), Freedom on the Net

Ashley Greco-Stoner, Senior Research Assistant (Latin America), Freedom on the Net

Report Authors and Advisors

Argentina: Eduardo Andres Bertoni, Director, Center for Studies on Freedom of Expression and Access to Information (CELE), Palermo University School of Law, Argentina; Daniela Schnidrig, Research Assistant, CELE

Armenia: Seda Muradyan, Co-Founder, Public Journalism Club NGO, and Armenia Branch Country Director, Institute for War and Peace Reporting

Australia: Dr. Alana Maurushat, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, and Co-Director, Cyberspace Law and Policy Community, The University of New South Wales

Azerbaijan: Arzu Geybullayeva, freelance blogger and journalist

Bangladesh: Dr. Faheem Hussain, Assistant Professor, Department of Technology and Society, State University of New York (SUNY) Korea

Brazil: Carolina Rossini, Vice President, International Policy, at Public Knowledge; Fabrício Bertini Pasquot Polido, Professor, Law School of Federal University of Minas Gerais, and Head of Center for International Studies on Internet, Innovation and Intellectual Property – GNet

Cambodia: Sopheap Chak, Executive Director, Cambodian Center for Human Rights, and human rights blogger

Canada: Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa

China: Madeline Earp, Research Analyst, Freedom on the Net, Freedom House

Colombia: Carlos Cortés, Media Policy Consultant, and Researcher of the Center for Freedom of Expression Studies (CELE) at Palermo University, Argentina

Cuba: Ernesto Hernández Busto, Cuban journalist and writer, Barcelona

Estonia: Linnar Viik, Lecturer, Board Member, Estonian IT College

France: Jean-Loup Richet, Researcher, University of Nantes

Georgia: Teona Turashvili, Analyst at Institute for Development of Freedom of Information (IDFI), Georgia

Germany: Philipp Otto, Digital Strategist and Editor in Chief,, Founder, iRights.Lab think tank, iRights.Media publishing house; Henning Lahmann, Research Assistant, iRights.Lab.

Hungary: Borbála Tóth, Independent Researcher

Iceland: Caroline Nellemann, Independent Consultant and Specialist in Digital Media and Civic Engagement

India: Chinmayi Arun, Research Director, Center for Communication Governance at National Law University, Delhi, Sarvjeet Singh, Project Manager and Research Fellow, Centre for Communication Governance, Parul Sharma, Student, B.A., LL.B. (Hons.), National Law University, Medha Vikram, Student, B.A., LL.B. (Hons.), National Law University

Indonesia: Indriaswati Dyah Saptaningrum, Executive Director, ELSAM (The Institute for Policy Research and Advocacy)

Iran: Mahmood Enayat, Director, Small Media Italy: Giampiero Giacomello, Associate Professor of International Relations, University of Bologna

Japan: Dr. Leslie M. Tkach-Kawasaki, Associate Professor, University of Tsukuba

Jordan: Abeer al-Najjar, Assistant Professor of Journalism and Media Studies, American University of Sharjah

Kazakhstan: Adil Nurmakov, Senior Lecturer, KIMEP University

Kenya: Grace Githaiga, Associate, Kenya ICT Action Network (KICTANet)

Kyrgyzstan: Artem Goriyanov, IT Programs Director, Public Foundation CIIP

Lebanon: Dr. Jad Melki, Assistant Professor of Journalism and Media Studies and Director, Media Studies Program, American University of Beirut

Libya: Danya Bashir Hobba, Ambassador, One Young World

Malawi: Gregory Gondwe, Bureau Chief, Times Media Group, Malawi

Malaysia: K. Kabilan, Managing Editor, The Ant Daily

Mexico: Jorge Luis Sierra, Director, Knight International Journalism Fellowships, International Center for Journalists

Morocco: Bouziane Zaid, Assistant Professor of Media and Communication, Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane

Myanmar: Min Zin, PhD Candidate, Department of Political Science, University of California, Berkeley, and Contributor, Foreign Policy Democracy Lab channel

Nigeria: ‘Gbenga Sesan, Executive Director, Paradigm Initiative Nigeria

Pakistan: Nighat Dad, Executive Director, Digital Rights Foundation, Pakistan, Lawyer and Internet Freedom Activist

Philippines: Jacques D.M. Gimeno, Assistant Professor, Communication Research Department, University of the Philippines-Diliman

Saudi Arabia: Abeer Allam, former Riyadh-based Correspondent, Financial Times

Singapore: Cherian George, Associate Professor, School of Communication, Hong Kong Baptist University

South Africa: Alan Finlay, Independent Consultant, Open Research

South Korea: Dr. Yenn Lee, Research Skills Trainer/ Coordinator, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London

Sri Lanka: Nigel V. Nugawela, Independent writer and researcher

Syria: Dlshad Othman, ICT Specialist, Information Safety & Capacity Project (ISC)

Turkey: Yaman Akdeniz, Professor of Law, Istanbul Bilgi University and Founder of

Uganda: Lillian Nalwoga, Policy Officer, Collaboration on International ICT Policy in East and Southern Africa (CIPESA), President, Internet Society Uganda Chapter

Ukraine: Tetyana Lokot, Doctoral Student and Researcher, Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland, College Park and Coeditor, RuNet Echo at Global Voices

United Kingdom: LSE Media Policy Project, London School of Economics and Political Science

United States: Emily Barabas, Policy Analyst, Center for Democracy and Technology

Uzbekistan: Zhanna Hördegen, Independent Consultant and Research Associate at the University Research Priority Program Asia and Europe, University of Zurich

Venezuela: Raisa Urribarri, Director, Communications Lab for Teaching, Research and Community Extension (LIESR) at the University of Los Andes.

Zambia: Brenda Nglazi Zulu, Founder and Director, Africa Interactive Media and Zambian Bloggers Network

The analysts for the reports on Angola, Bahrain, Belarus, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Russia, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, Sudan, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam and Zimbabwe are independent internet researchers who have requested to remain anonymous. Xiao Qiang, founder and chief editor of China Digital Times, and adjunct professor of the School of Information, University of California at Berkeley, was an advisor for the China report.