Acknowledgements | Freedom House


Read a Country or a Territory Report

Freedom of the Press 2006 could not have been completed without the contributions of numerous Freedom House staff and consultants. The following section, entitled "The Survey Team," contains a detailed list of writers and advisers without whose efforts and input this project would not have been possible.
Karin Deutsch Karlekar, a senior researcher at Freedom House, served as managing editor of this year's survey. Eleanor Marchant served as assistant editor and was involved in all stages of the research, writing, and editing process. Extensive research, editorial, proofreading, and administrative assistance was provided by Astrid Larson, Thomas Webb, Sarah Cussen, Genevieve LaForge, and Raffael Himmelsbach. Anne Green, of Greenways Graphic Design, was responsible for the design and layout of the book, while Sona Vogel served as the principal copy editor. Overall guidance for the project was provided by Arch Puddington, director of research, and by Christopher Walker, director of studies.
We are grateful for the insights provided by those who served on this year's review team, including Freedom House staff members Jennifer Windsor, Thomas Melia, Arch Puddington, Christopher Walker, Karin Deutsch Karlekar, Mark Rosenberg, Eleanor Marchant, Dapo Olorunyomi, Mariam Memarsadeghi, Dima Malhas, and Sanaz Mirzaei, as well as Marwan Sadiq of the International Center for Journalists. In addition, the ratings and narratives were reviewed by a number of Freedom House staff based in our overseas offices, including Mike Staresinic of the FH-Serbia office, Kristie Evenson and Viktoria Villanyi of the FH-Budapest office, Cristina Guseth of the FH-Romania office, and Frances Abouzeid and the staff of the FH-Jordan office. This report also reflects the findings of the Freedom House study Freedom in the World 2006: The Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties. Statistics on internet usage were taken from
We would also like to acknowledge comments and input on various reports from the following members of the International Freedom of Expression Exchange (IFEX) network: Carlos Cortes Castillo of the Fundacion para la Libertad de Prensa (Colombia), Malcolm Joseph of the Center for Media Studies and Peace Building (Liberia), Ronald Koven of the World Press Freedom Committee, Edetaen Ojo of Media Rights Agenda (Nigeria), Khadga Sen Oli of the Center for Human Rights and Democratic Studies (Nepal), and Hans Verploeg of the Netherlands Association of Journalists.
Freedom House would like to thank the John F. and James L. Knight Foundation and the Annenberg Foundation for their generous grants in support of our freedom of expression work. Additional support for this year's survey was provided by the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, the F. M. Kirby Foundation, and the Lilly Endowment.