Acknowledgments | Freedom House


Read a Country or a Territory Report


Freedom of the Press 2007 could not have been completed without the contributions of numerous Freedom House staff and consultants. The following section, entitled “The Survey Team,” contains a detailed list of writers and advisers without whose efforts and input this project would not have been possible.

Karin Deutsch Karlekar, a senior researcher at Freedom House, served as managing editor of this year’s survey. Extensive research, editorial, proofreading, and administrative assistance was provided by Eleanor Marchant, assistant editor of Freedom of the Press, as well as by Astrid Larson, Thomas Webb, Tyler Roylance, Camille Eiss, Elizabeth Floyd, Jacob Stokes, and Shaina Greiff. Anne Green, of Greenways Graphic Design, and Lori Greenberg Tolchin were responsible for the design and typesetting of the book, while Sona Vogel served as the principal copy editor. Overall guidance for the project was provided by Arch Puddington, director of research, and by Christopher Walker, director of studies.

We are grateful for the insights provided by those who served on this year’s review team, including Freedom House staff members Arch Puddington, Christopher Walker, Karin Deutsch Karlekar, Eleanor Marchant, Mariam Memarsadeghi, and Celine Senseney, as well as Freedom House visiting fellow Sihem Figuigui and Dan McCarey and Ting Wang of the International Center for Journalists. In addition, the ratings and narratives were reviewed by a number of Freedom House staff based in our overseas offices. This report also reflects the findings of the Freedom House study Freedom in the World 2007: The Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties. Statistics on internet usage were taken from

We would also like to acknowledge comments and input on various reports from the following members of the International Freedom of Expression Exchange (IFEX) network: Owais Aslam Ali of the Pakistan Press Foundation, Carlos Cortes Castillo of the Fundacion para la Libertad de Prensa (Colombia), Corina Cepoi and Olivia Pirtac of the Independent Journalism Center (Moldova), Gamal Eid of the Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (, Ronald Koven of the World Press Freedom Committee, H.Naranjargal and Dash Munkhburen of Globe International (Mongolia), Edetaen Ojo of Media Rights Agenda (Nigeria), Julie Payne of Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Ping Ling of the Hong Kong Journalists Association, and Hans Verploeg of the Netherlands Association of Journalists. Comments were also received from Saad Mohseni, of the Moby Media Group (Afghanistan) and Omar Faruk Osman of the National Union of Somali Journalists.

Freedom House would like to thank the Annenberg Foundation and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation for their generous grants in support of our freedom of expression work. Additional support for this year’s survey was provided by the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, the F. M. Kirby Foundation, the Lilly Endowment, the Freedom Forum, and Bette Bao Lord.