Acknowledgments | Freedom House


Read a Country or a Territory Report

Freedom of the Press 2008 could not have been completed without the contributions of numerous Freedom House staff and consultants. The following section, entitled “The Survey Team,” contains a detailed list of writers and advisers without whose efforts and input this project would not have been possible.

Karin Deutsch Karlekar, a senior researcher at Freedom House, served as managing editor of this year’s survey. Extensive research, editorial, proofreading, and administrative assistance was provided by Sarah G. Cook, as well as by Katrina Neubauer, Tyler Roylance, Elizabeth Floyd, and interns Paul Challan, Mariel Davis, Chris Janiec, and Michael Kreidler. Anne Green, of Greenways Graphic Design, was responsible for the design and typesetting of the book, while Sona Vogel served as the principal copy editor and Eleanor Marchant and Leigh Tomppert served as line editors. Overall guidance for the project was provided by Arch Puddington, director of research, and by Christopher Walker, director of studies.

We are grateful for the insights provided by those who served on this year’s review team, including Freedom House staff members Arch Puddington, Christopher Walker, Karin Deutsch Karlekar, Sarah G. Cook, and Sherif Mansour, as well as Bob Tinsley, Dan McCarey, and Natasha Tynes of the International Center for Journalists. In addition, the ratings and narratives were reviewed by a number of Freedom House staff based in our overseas offices. This report also reflects the findings of the Freedom House study Freedom in the World 2008: The Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties. Statistics on internet usage were taken from

We would also like to acknowledge comments and input on various reports from the following members of the International Freedom of Expression Exchange (IFEX) network: Owais Aslam Ali of the Pakistan Press Foundation, Carlos Cortes Castillo of the Fundacion para la Libertad de Prensa (Colombia), Corina Cepoi of the Independent Journalism Center (Moldova), Ronald Koven of the World Press Freedom Committee, Edetaen Ojo of Media Rights Agenda (Nigeria), Julie Payne of Canadian Journalists for Free Expression, Mak Yin Ting of the Hong Kong Journalists’ Association, Jose Roberto de Toledo of the Brazilian Association of Investigative Journalism (Abraji), Nabil Rajab of the Bahrain Center for Human Rights, Moataz El Fegiery of the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (Egypt), Khadga Sen Oli of the Center for Human Rights and Democratic Studies (Nepal), Oleg Panfilov of the Center for Journalism in Extreme Situations (Russia), Melinda de Jesus of the Center for Media and Responsibility (Philippines), Malcolm Joseph of the Center for Media Studies and Peace Building (Liberia), Item Eko Maryadi of the Alliance of Independent Journalists (Indonesia), Andres A. Solis of the Centre for Journalism and Public Ethics (Mexico), Kifle Mulat of the Ethiopian Free Press Journalists’ Association, Uvindu Kurukulasuriya of Free Media Movement (Sri Lanka), Boris Timoshenko of the Glasnost Defense Foundation (Russia), Emin Huseynov and Sarah Paulsworth of the Institute for Reporter Freedom and Safety (Azerbaijan), Erol Onderoglu of the IPS Communication Foundation (Turkey), Roula Mikhael of the Maharat Foundation (Lebanon), Kaitira E. Kandjii of the Media Institute of Southern Africa (Namibia), Omar Faruk Osman of the National Union of Somali Journalists, and Sihem Bensedrine of L’Observatoire pour la liberte de press, d’edition, et de creation (OLPEC–Tunisia).

Freedom House would like to thank the Annenberg Foundation for its generous grants in support of our freedom of expression work. Additional support for this year’s survey was provided by the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, the F. M. Kirby Foundation, the Lilly Endowment, Free Voice, the Freedom Forum, and Bette Bao Lord.