Freedom of the Press 2010 - Acknowledgments | Freedom House


Read a Country or a Territory Report

Freedom of the Press 2010 could not have been completed without the contributions of numerous Freedom House staff and consultants. The section entitled “The Survey Team,” contains a detailed list of writers and advisors without whose efforts this project would not have been possible.
Karin Deutsch Karlekar, a senior researcher at Freedom House, served as managing editor of this year’s index. Extensive research, editorial, and administrative assistance was provided by Eliza Young, Tyler Roylance, Eva Hoier Greene, and Nuray Inal, as well as by Charles Liebling, Timothy Shenk, Katherine Haggans, Patrick Gilroy, Emily Schloss, and Joshua Siegel. Overall guidance for the project was provided by Arch Puddington, director of research, and by Christopher Walker, director of studies. We would also like to thank our consultant writers and advisors and other members of the survey team for their contributions.
We are grateful for the insights provided by those who served on this year’s review teams. In addition, the ratings and narratives were reviewed by a number of Freedom House staff based in our Washington, D.C. and overseas offices. This report also reflects the findings of the Freedom House study Freedom in the World 2010: The Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties. Statistics on internet usage were taken from the International Telecommunications Union.

Primary funding for the 2010 index was made possible by the Leon Levy Foundation. Additional funding was provided by the Hurford Foundation, the Nicholas B. Ottaway Foundation, the National Endowment for Democracy, Free Voice, Amgen Corporation, the Lilly Endowment Inc., the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, the F.M. Kirby Foundation, Inc., the American Federation of Teachers, and Freedom Forum.