Read a Country or a Territory Report

Karin Deutsch Karlekar served as the project director of Freedom of the Press 2013. Overall guidance for the project was provided by Arch Puddington, vice president for research, and Vanessa Tucker, director for analysis. Extensive research, editorial, analytical, and admin­istrative assistance was provided by Jennifer Dunham and Bret Nelson, as well as by Zselyke Csaky, Morgan Huston, Andrew Rizzardi, and Tyler Roylance. We would also like to thank our consultant writers and advisers and other members of the survey team for their contributions.

The extensive work undertaken to produce Freedom of the Press 2013 was made possible by the generous support of the Leon Levy Foundation, the Jyllands-Posten Foundation, the Hurford Foundation, and the Nicholas B. Ottaway Foundation. Freedom House also gratefully acknowledges the contributions of Free Press Unlimited, Google, the Lilly Endowment, the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, and Freedom Forum.