Selected Sources

Read a Country or a Territory Report

Publications/Broadcasts

ABC Color [Paraguay], www.abc.com.py
Africa
Africa Confidential , www.africa-confidential.com
Africa Daily , www.africadaily.com
Africa Energy Intelligence , www.africaintelligence.com
AFRICAHOME dotcom, www.africahome.com
AfricaOnline.com, www.africaonline.com
African Elections Database, http://africanelections.tripod.com
Afrol News, www.afrol.com
Aftenposten [Norway], www.aftenposten.no
Agence France Presse (AFP), www.afp.com
Al-Ahram [Egypt], www.weekly.ahram.org.eg
Al Jazeera, http://english.aljazeera.net
allAfrica.com, www.allafrica.com
Al-Ray Al-‘am [Kuwait], www.alraialaam.com
Al-Raya [Qatar], www.raya.com
Al-Quds Al-Arabi , www.alquds.co.uk
Al-Thawra [Yemen], www.althawra.gov.ye
Al-Watan [Qatar], www.al-watan.com
American Broadcasting Corporation News (ABC), www.abcnews.go.com
American RadioWorks, www.americanpublicmedia.publicradio.org
Andorra Times , www.andorratimes.com
Arab News [Saudi Arabia], www.arabnews.com
Annual Review of Population Law (Harvard Law School), annualreview.law.harvard.edu 
Asharq Alawsat, www.asharqalawsat.com
Asia Times , www.atimes.com
Associated Press (AP), www.ap.org
The Atlantic Monthly , www.theatlantic.com
Australia Broadcasting Corporation News Online, www.abc.net.au/news
The Australian , www.theaustralian.news.com.au
Bahrain Post , www.bahrainpost.com
Bahrain Tribune , www.bahraintribune.com
Baltic News Service, www.bns.lt
Bangkok Post , www.bangkokpost.co.th
The Boston Globe , www.boston.com
British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), www.bbc.co.uk
BruDirect.com, www.brudirect.com/
The Budapest Sun , www.budapestsun.com
Business Day [South Africa], www.bday.co.za
Cabinda.net, www.cabinda.net
Cable News Network (CNN), www.cnn.com
Cameroon Tribune , www.cameroon-tribune.cm
The Caribbean & Central America Report (Intelligence Research Ltd.)
The Central Asia-Caucasus Analyst (Johns Hopkins University),
www.cacianalyst.org
The China Post , www.chinapost.com.tw
The Christian Science Monitor , www.csmonitor.com
CIA World Factbook, www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook
Civil Georgia , www.civil.ge
The Copenhagen Post [Denmark], www.cphpost.dk
Corriere della Sera [Italy], www.corriere.it
Daily Excelsior [India-Kashmir], www.dailyexcelsior.com
Daily Star [Bangladesh], www.dailystar.net
The Daily Times, www.dailytimes.bppmw.com/
Danas [Serbia and Montenegro], www.danas.co.yu
Dani [Bosnia-Herzegovina], www.bhdani.com
Dawn [Pakistan], www.dawn.com
Der Spiegel , www.spiegel.de
Der Standard [Austria], www.derstandard.at
Die Zeit [Germany], www.zeit.de
Deutsche Presse-Agentur [Germany], www.dpa.de
Deutsche Welle [Germany], www.dwelle.de
The East Africa Standard [Kenya], www.eastandard.net
East European Constitutional Review (New York University), www.law.nyu.edu/eedr
The Economist , www.economist.com
The Economist Intelligence Unit reports
EFE News Service [Spain],
www.efenews.com
Election Watch, www.electionwatch.org
Election World, www.electionworld.org
El Mercurio [Chile], www.elmercurio.cl
El Nuevo Herald [United States], www.miami.com/mld/elnuevo
El Pais [Uruguay], www.elpais.com.uy
El Tiempo [Colombia], www.eltiempo.com
El Universal [Venezuela], www.eluniversal.com.ve
Expreso [Peru], www.expreso.co.pe
Far Eastern Economic Review , www.feer.com
Federal Bureau of Investigation Hate Crime Statistics, www.fbi.gov/ucr/2003/03semimaps.pdf
Fiji Times Online , www.fijitimes.com
FijiSUN , www.sun.com.fj
The Financial Times , www.ft.com
Finnish News Agency, http://virtual.finland.fi/stt
Folha de Sao Paulo , www.folha.com.br
Foreign Affairs , www.foreignaffairs.org
Foreign Policy , www.foreignpolicy.com
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung [Germany], www.faz.net
The Friday Times [Pakistan], www.thefridaytimes.com
The Frontier Post [Pakistan], www.frontierpost.com
Global News Wire, www.lexis-nexis.com
Globus [Croatia], www.globus.com.hr
The Good Friday Agreement [Northern Ireland], www.nio.gov.uk/issues/agreement.htm
The Guardian [Nigeria], www.ngrguardiannews.com
The Guardian [United Kingdom], www.guardian.co.uk
Gulf Daily News [Bahrain], www.gulf-daily-news.com
Gulf News Online [United Arab Emirates], www.gulf-news.com
Gulf Times [Qatar], www.gulf-times.com
Harper’s Magazine , www.harpers.org
Haveeru Daily [Maldives], www.haveeru.com.mv
The Hindustan Times [India], www.hindustantimes.com
Iceland Review , www.icelandreview.com
The Independent [United Kingdom], www.independent.co.uk
Index on Censorship , www.indexonline.org
India Today , www.india-today.com
The Indian Express, www.indian-express.com
Info Matin [Mali], www.info-matin.com
Insight Magazine , www.insightmag.com
Insight Namibia Magazine , www.insight.com.na
Integrated Regional Information Networks (IRIN), www.irinnews.org
Inter Press Service, www.ips.org
Interfax News Agency, www.interfax-news.com
International Herald Tribune , www.iht.com
Irish Independent , www.unison.ie/irish_independent
Irish Times , www.ireland.com
Islands Business Magazine , www.islandsbusiness.com
The Jordan Times, www.jordantimes.com
Journal of Democracy , www.journalofdemocracy.org
Jyllands-Posten [Denmark], www.jp.dk
Kashmir Times [India - Kashmir], www.kashmirtimes.com
Kathmandu Post , www.nepalnews.com.np/ktmpost.htm
Khaleej Times [United Arab Emirates], www.khaleejtimes.com
The Korea Times , http://times.hankooki.com
Kuensel [Bhutan], www.kuenselonline.com
Kurier [Austria], www.kurier.at
Kuwait Post , www.kuwaitpost.com
La Jornada [Mexico], www.jornada.uam.nx
La Nacion [Argentina], www.lanacion.com.ar
La Repubblica [Italy], www.repubblica.it
La Tercera [Chile], www.tercera.cl
Lanka Monthly Digest [Sri Lanka], www.lanka.net/LMD
Latin American Regional Reports , www.latinnews.com
Latin American Weekly Reports , www.latinnews.com
Le Faso [Burkina Faso], www.lefaso.net
Le Figaro [France], www.lefigaro.fr
Le Messager [Cameroon], www.lemessager.net
Le Monde [France], www.lemonde.fr
Le Temps [Switzerland], www.letemps.ch
Lexis-Nexis, www.lexis-nexis.com
The Local [Sweden], www.thelocal.se
The Los Angeles Times , www.latimes.com
Mail & Guardian [South Africa], www.mg.co.za
The Manila Times, www.manilatimes.net/
Marianas Variety , www.mvariety.com
Matangi Tonga Magazine , www.matangitonga.to
The Messenger [Georgia], www.messenger.com.ge
The Miami Herald , www.miami.com/mld/miamiherald
Middle East Online, www.middle-east-online.com
Mirianas Variety [Micronesia], www.mvariety.com
Mopheme News [Lesotho], www.lesoff.co.za/news
Mother Jones , www.motherjones.com
The Moscow Times , www.themoscowtimes.com
Nacional [Croatia], www.nacional.hr
The Namibian, www.namibian.com.na/
The Nation , www.thenation.org
The Nation [Thailand], www.nationmultimedia.com
The Nation Online [Malawi], www.nationmalawi.com
The National [Papua New Guinea], www.thenational.com.pg
National Public Radio (NPR), www.npr.org
National Review , www.nationalreview.com
Neue Zurcher Zeitung [Switzerland], www.nzz.ch
The New York Times , www.nytimes.com
The New Yorker , www.newyorker.com
The New Zealand Herald , www.nzherald.co.nz
NIN [Serbia and Montenegro], www.nin.co.yu
Noticias [Argentina], www.noticias.uolsinectis.com.ar
Notimex [Mexico], www.notimex.com
Novi Reporter [Serbia and Montenegro]
O Estado de Sao Paulo ,
www.estado.com.br
O Globo [Brazil] , www.oglobo.globo.com
OFFnews [Argentina], www.offnews.info
Oman Arabic Daily , www.omandaily.com
Oman Daily Observer , www.omanobserver.com
Oslobodjenje [Bosnia-Herzegovina], www.oslobodjenje.com.ba
Outlook [India], www.outlookindia.com
Pacific Islands Report , http://pidp.eastwestcenter.org/pireport
Pagina/12 [Argentina], www.pagina12.com.ar
PANAPRESS, www.panapress.com
Papua New Guinea Post-Courier , www.postcourier.com.pg
The Pioneer [India], www.dailypioneer.com
Political Handbook of the World, http://phw.binghamton.edu
Politika [Serbia-Montenegro], www.politika.co.yu
Port Vila Presse , www.news.vu/en/
The Post [Zambia], www.zamnet.zm/zamnet/post/post.html
The Prague Post , www.praguepost.com
Radio and Television Hong Kong, www.rthk.org.hk
Radio Australia, www.abc.net.au/ra
Radio France Internationale, www.rfi.fr
Radio Free Europe-Radio Liberty reports, www.rferl.org
Radio Lesotho, www.lesotho.gov.ls/radio/radiolesotho
Radio Okapi [Democratic Republic of Congo], www.radioOkapi.net
Radio New Zealand, www.rnzi.com
Reporter [Serbia and Montenegro]
Reuters,
www.reuters.com
Ritzau [Denmark], www.ritzau.dk
The Samoa News , www.samoanews.com
Semana [Colombia], www.semana.com
Slobodna Bosna [Bosnia-Herzegovina], www.slobodna-bosna.ba
The Slovak Spectator , www.slovakspectator.sk
Solomon Islands Broadcasting Corporation, www.sibconline.com.sb
Solomon Star , www.solomonstarnews.com
The Somaliland Times , www.somalilandtimes.net
South Asia Tribune [Pakistan], www.satribune.com
South China Morning Post [Hong Kong], www.scmp.com
The Statesman [India], www.thestatesman.net
Straits Times [Singapore], www.straitstimes.asia1.com.sg
Suddeutsche Zeitung [Germany], www.sueddeutsche.de
Tageblatt [Luxembourg], www.tageblatt.lu
Tahiti Presse , www.tahitipresse.pf
Taipei Times , www.taipeitimes.com
Tamilnet.com, www.tamilnet.com
Tax-News.com, www.tax-news.com
This Day [Nigeria], www.thisdayonline.com
The Tico Times [Costa Rica], www.ticotimes.net
Time , www.time.com
The Times of Central Asia , www.times.kg
The Times of India , www.timesofindia.net
Times of Zambia , www.times.co.zm/
TomPaine.com, www.TomPaine.com
Tonga Now , www.tonga-now.to
Tonga USA Today , www.tongausatoday.com
Transcaucasus: A Chronology , www.anca.org/anca/transcaucasus.asp
Turkistan Newsletter
U.S. News and World Report ,
www.usnews.com
U.S. State Department Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/hrrpt
U.S. State Department Country Reports on Human Trafficking Reports, www.state.gov/g/tip
U.S. State Department International Religious Freedom Reports, www.state.gov/g/drl/irf
The Vanguard [Nigeria], www.vanguardngr.com
Vanuatu Daily Post , www.vanuatudaily.com
Venpres [Venezuela], www.venpres.gov.ve
Voice of America, www.voa.gov
The Wall Street Journal , www.wsj.com
The Washington Post , www.washingtonpost.com
The Washington Times , www.washingtontimes.com
The Weekly Standard , www.weeklystandard.com
World of Information Country Reports, www.worldinformation.com
World News, www.wn.com
Xinhua News, www.xinhuanet.com
Yemen Observer , www.yobserver.com
Yemen Times , www.yementimes.com
Yokwe Online [Marshall Islands], www.yokwe.net
 

Organizations

Afghan Independent Human Rights Commission, www.aihrc.org.af
Afghanistan Research and Evaluation Unit, www.areu.org.pk
Afrobarometer, www.afrobarometer.org
American Civil Liberties Union, www.aclu.org
Amnesty International, www.amnesty.org
Annan Plan for Cyprus, www.cyprus-un-plan.org
Anti-Slavery International, www.antislavery.org
Asian Center for Human Rights [India], www.achrweb.org
Asian Human Rights Commission [Hong Kong], www.ahrchk.net
Balkan Human Rights Web, www.greekhelsinki.gr
Bangladesh Center for Development, Journalism, and Communication, www.bcjdc.org
British Helsinki Human Rights Group, www.oscewatch.org/default.asp
Cabindese Government in Exile, www.cabinda.org
Cambridge International Reference on Current Affairs, www.circaworld.com
Canadian Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, www.dfait-maeci.gc.ca
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, www.carnegieendowment.org
The Carter Center, www.cartercenter.org
Centre for Monitoring Electoral Violence [Sri Lanka], www.cpalanka.org/cmev.html
Centre for Policy Alternatives [Sri Lanka], www.cpalanka.org
Centre for the Study of Violence and Reconciliation, www.csvr.org.za
Chad/Cameroon Development Project, www.essochad.com
Chatham House [United Kingdom], www.chathamhouse.org.uk
Committee for the Prevention of Torture, www.cpt.coe.int
Committee to Protect Journalists, www.cpj.org
Council of Europe, www.coe.int
The Danish Institute for Human Rights, www.humanrights.dk
Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Global Advice Network, www.business-anti-corruption.com
Ditshwanelo – The Botswana Centre for Human Rights, www.ditshwanelo.org.bw
Earth Institute Advisory Group for Sao Tome and Principe, www.earthinstitute.columbia.edu
Election Commission of India, www.eci.gov.in
Electoral Institute of Southern Africa, www.eisa.org.za
Eurasia Group, www.eurasiagroup.net
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, www.ebrd.org
European Commission Against Racism and Intolerance, www.ecri.coe.int
European Institute for the Media, www.eim.org
European Union, www.europa.eu.int
Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative, www.eitransparency.org
Fijilive. www.fijilive.com
Fiji Village, www.FijiVillage.com
Forum 18, www.forum18.org
Forum for Human Dignity [Sri Lanka], www.fhd.8m.net
Forum of Federations/Forum des Federations, www.forumfed.org
Friends of Niger, www.friendsofniger.org
Global Integrity, www.globalintegrity.org
Global Policy Forum, www.globalpolicy.org
Global Rights, www.globalrights.org
Global Witness, www.globalwitness.org
The Government of Botswana Website, www.gov.bw
The Government of Mauritania Website, www.mauritania.mr
Habitat International Coalition, http://home.mweb.co.za/hi/hic/
Heritage Foundation, www.heritage.org
Hong Kong Human Rights Monitor, www.hkhrm.org.hk
Human Rights Center of Azerbaijan, http://mitglied.lycos.de/hrca
Human Rights Commission of Pakistan, www.hrcp-web.org
Human Rights First, www.humanrightsfirst.org
Human Rights Watch, www.hrw.org
INFORM (Sri Lanka Information Monitor)
Institute for Democracy in Eastern Europe, www.idee.org
Institute for Democracy in South Africa, www.idasa.org.za
Institute for Security Studies, www.iss.co.za
Institute for War and Peace Reporting, www.iwpr.net
Inter-American Dialogue, www.thedialogue.org
Inter American Press Association, www.sipiapa.com
International Alert, www.international-alert.org
International Bar Association, www.ibanet.org
International Campaign for Tibet, www.savetibet.org
International Centre for Ethnic Studies, www.icescolombo.org
International Commission of Jurists, www.icj.org
International Confederation of Free Trade Unions, www.icftu.org
International Crisis Group, www.crisisweb.org
International Federation of Journalists, www.ifj.org
International Foundation for Electoral Systems, www.ifes.org
International Freedom of Expression Exchange, www.ifex.org
International Helsinki Federation for Human Rights, www.ihf-hr.org
International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance, www.idea.int
International Labour Organization, www.ilo.org
International Legal Assistance Consortium, www.ilacinternational.org
International Lesbian and Gay Association, www.ilga.org
International Monetary Fund, www.imf.org
International Network for Higher Education in Africa, www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/soe/cihe/inhea/
International Organization for Migration, www.iom.int
International Press Institute, www.freemedia.at
International Republican Institute, www.iri.org
International Society For Fair Elections And Democracy [Georgia], www.isfed.ge
Jamestown Foundation, www.jamestown.org
Kashmir Study Group, www.kashmirstudygroup.net
Kyrgyz Committee for Human Rights, www.kchr.elcat.kg
Macedonian Information Agency, www.mia.mk
The Malawi Human Rights Commission
Malta Data, www.maltadata.com
Media Institute of Southern Africa, www.misa.org
Media Rights Agenda [Nigeria], www.mediarightsagenda.org
Millennium Challenge Corporation, www.mcc.gov
National Anti-Corruption Network [Burkina Faso], www.renlac.org
National Democratic Institute for International Affairs, www.ndi.org
The National Endowment for Democracy, www.ned.org
National Human Rights Commission [India], www.nhrc.nic.in
National Peace Council of Sri Lanka, www.peace-srilanka.org
National Society for Human Rights [Namibia], www.nshr.org.na
Nicaragua Network, www.nicanet.org
Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders, www.omct.org
Odhikar [Bangladesh], www.odhikar.org
Office of the High Representative in Bosnia and Herzegovina, www.ohr.int
Open Society Institute, www.soros.org
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, www.oecd.org
Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, www.osce.org
Pacific Media Watch, www.pmw.c20.org
People’s Forum for Human Rights [Bhutan]
Population Reference Bureau, www.prb.org
Publish What You Pay Campaign, www.publishwhatyoupay.org
Refugees International, www.refugeesinternational.org
Reporters Sans Frontieres, www.rsf.org
Republic of Angola, www.angola.org
Royal Institute of International Affairs, www.riia.org
Save the Children, www.savethechildren.org
Shan Women’s Action Network, www.shanwomen.org
South African Human Rights Commission, www.sahrc.org.za
South African Press Association, www.sapa.org.za
South Asia Analysis Group [India], www.saag.org
South Asia Terrorism Portal [India], www.satp.org
Sweden.se, www.sweden.se
Tibet Information Network, www.tibetinfo.net
Transitions Online, www.tol.cz
Transparency International, www.transparency.org
Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, www.mfa.gov.tr
United Nations Development Program, www.undp.org
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, www.unhcr.org
United Nations High Commissioner on Human Rights, www.unhchr.ch
United Nations Interim Mission in Kosovo, www.unmikonline.org
United Nations Population Division, www.un.org/esa/population
United Nations Security Council, www.un.org
U.S. Agency for International Development, www.usaid.org
U.S. Department of State, www.state.gov
University Teachers for Human Rights-Jaffna, www.uthr.org
Washington Office on Latin America, www.wola.org
The World Bank, www.worldbank.org
World Markets Research Centre, www.wmrc.com
World Press Freedom Committee, www.wpfc.org