Acknowledgements | Freedom House


You are here

Read a Country or a Territory Report

Nations in Transit 2006 could not have been completed without the contributions of numerous Freedom House staff and consultants. This study was also made possible by the generous support of the U.S. Agency for International Development.

Freedom House is grateful to the country report authors for their painstaking efforts to provide clear, concise, and informed analysis of the dramatic changes occurring in the countries under study. They are: Florian Bieber, Annette Bohr, Zhidas Daskalovski, Rashko Dorosiev, Bhavna Dave, Juris Dreifelds, Jeremy Druker, George Dura, Kate Fearon, Payam Foroughi, Robert Freedman, Georgy Ganev, Paul Goble, Miroslav Kollar, Roland Kovats, Ivan Krastev, Andrzej Krajewski, Lisa McLean, Grigorij Meseznikov, Alina Mungiu-Pippidi, Mirsada Muzur, Kaan Nazli, Ghia Nodia, Robert Orttung, Bruce Pannier, Aneta Piasecka, Barbara Peranic, Nicu Popescu, Olena Prystayko, Bashkim Rrahmani, Vitali Silitski, Oleksandr Sushko, Eno Trimcev, Michal Vasecka, Viktoria Villanyi, Anna Walker, and Ali Zerdin.

A number of distinguished scholars and regional experts served on this year's academic oversight committees and ratings board. They are: Audrey Altstadt of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst (United States), Zamira Eshanova of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty, Prague (Czech Republic), Charles Gati of Johns Hopkins University, Washington, D.C. (United States), Olga Kryshtanovskaya of the Institute for Applied Politics, Moscow (Russia), Rajan Menon of Lehigh University (United States), Sergiu Miscoiu of Babes Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca (Romania), Alexander Motyl of Rutgers University, Newark (United States), and Susan Woodward of the Graduate Center, City University of New York (United States).

Freedom House also thanks: Alexander Baturo of Trinity College, Dublin (Ireland), Anton Bebler of the University of Ljubljana (Slovenia), Artan Hoxha of the Institute for Contemporary Studies, Tirana (Albania), Abdiraim Jorokulov of United Nations Development Programme, Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan), Valts Kalins of the Centre for Public Policy Providus, Riga (Latvia), Charles Kovacs of Hir Radio, Budapest (Hungary), Jelica Minic of European Movement, Belgrade (Serbia and Montenegro), Elena Parfenova of the EastWest Institute, Prague (Czech Republic), Jiri Pehe of the New York University, Prague (Czech Republic), David J. Smith of the University of Glasgow, (United Kingdom), and Lenka Surotchak of Pontis Foundation, Bratislava (Slovakia) for their comments on specific reports.

Several members of the Freedom House staff took time out of their schedules to read and provide valuable feedback on the country reports. They are: Sanja Pesek, Mike Staresinic, and Lloyd Tudyk of the Belgrade office; Cristina Guseth of the Bucharest office; Kristie Evenson, Roland Kovats, and Alexander Kourylev of the Europe/Budapest office; Svetlana Franchuk, Juhani Grossmann, Orysia Lutsevych, and Vitaly Moroz of the Kyiv office; John Kubiniec and Krzysztof Filcek of the Warsaw office; Antonio Stango of the Almaty office; Stuart Kahn, Mike Stone, and Ruslan Yakhtanigov of the Bishkek office; Lisa Davis and Alexander Gupman of the Washington, D.C. office.

Jeannette Goehring of Freedom House managed and edited the 2006 study. Jennifer Windsor, Thomas O. Melia, Kristie D. Evenson, Christopher Walker, and Amanda Schnetzer of Freedom House provided overall guidance and support for the project. Fraser Allan was responsible for the design and layout of the book. Sona Vogel served as copy editor; John Ewing, Eileen G. P. Brown, and Jeremy Druker as line editors; and Eileen G. P. Brown as proofreader. Lisa Mootz of Freedom House provided editorial, research, and administrative assistance, aided by Annamaria Preisz, Astrid Larson, and Thomas Webb.