Survey Team | Freedom House

Survey Team

You are here

Read a Country or a Territory Report

ALBANIA – Gledis Gjipali is Executive Director of European Movement in Albania, a Tirana based, non-profit think tank dedicated to the democratization and European integration of the country.

ARMENIA – Alexander Iskandaryan is the Director of the Caucasus Institute, a think tank and educational center in Yerevan, Armenia. He also lectures and publishes on politics, democracy, and transition.

AZERBAIJAN – Magdalena Frichova Grono has worked on conflict resolution and governance issues in the South Caucasus since 1999. She is a program associate at Conciliation Resources and has previously worked for International Crisis Group, the OSCE, the UN High Commissioner on National Minorities, and International Alert.

BELARUS – Vitali Silitski was a director of the Vilnius-based Belarusian Institute for Strategic Studies (BISS). He passed away on June 11, 2011, at the age of 38. Alexei Pikulik is senior analyst at BISS. He is also a professor in the IMARES program at the European University at St. Petersburg and and associate professor at the Europeam Humanities University in Vilnius.

BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA – Jasna Jelisić (City University of New York and University of Oxford, PhD candidate at the University of Sarajevo) has worked in the Western Balkans since 1997 as a journalist, political advisor, and analyst.

BULGARIA – Daniel Smilov is program director for political and legal research and Georgy Ganev is program director for economic research at the Center for Liberal Strategies, a nonprofit think tank based in Sofia.

CROATIA – Petar Dorić is a journalist and analyst based in Split, Croatia. He holds a Masters of International Relations from the City College of New York.

CZECH REPUBLIC – Jeremy Druker is executive director and editor in chief of Transitions Online, an internet news magazine covering Central and Eastern Europe, the Balkans, and the former Soviet Union. Alice Drukerová, a freelance journalist, and Jarmila Kolková assisted in the research for this report.

ESTONIA – Vello Pettai is Professor of Comparative Politics and Martin Mölder is a research assistant in the Institute of Government and Politics at the University of Tartu.

GEORGIA – David Aprasidze is Professor of Political Science at Ilia State University, Tbilisi, Georgia.

HUNGARY – Balázs Áron Kovács is an instructor in the Department of Peace and Conflict Studies of the United Nations–mandated University for Peace in Costa Rica and academic coordinator of the Asia Leaders Programme with Ateneo de Manila University in the Philippines. Flóra Hevesi currently works as a freelance journalist based in Hungary. Her reports have been published by the Hungarian Television, CNN and in numerous print publications. She is also a dedicated environmental and human rights activist.

KAZAKHSTAN – Bhavna Dave is a senior lecturer in the Department of Politics and chair of the Center on Contemporary Central Asia and the Caucasus at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. She is the author of Kazakhstan: Ethnicity, Language and Power (Routledge, 2007).

KOSOVO – Until May 2011, Ariana Qosaj-Mustafa was Research Director of the Kosovar Institute for Policy Research and Development (KIPRED) in Pristina. Krenar Gashi, who also contributed to this report, is Executive Director of KIPRED.

KYRGYZSTAN – Erica Marat is a Eurasia analyst based in Washington, DC.

LATVIA – Juris Dreifelds teaches political science at Brock University in Ontario, Canada. He is the author of many chapters and articles on the Baltic area. His book Latvia in Transition was published by Cambridge University Press in 1996.

LITHUANIA – Aneta Piasecka is head of international relations and project management at the International School of Law and Business in Vilnius. Kaetana Leontjeva, who assisted in the writing of this report, is a policy analyst at the Lithuanian Free Market Institute.

MACEDONIA – Neda Milevska-Kostova MSC, MCPPM is executive director of the Centre for Regional Policy Research and Cooperation ‘Studiorum’ in Skopje, and assistant professor of Public Policy and Management at the University American College Skopje.

MOLDOVA – William Crowther is the head of the Department of Political Science at the University of North Carolina Greensboro. He is a longtime observer of Moldovan politics who began doing research there in the late 1980s. His research focuses on interethnic relations, legislative politics, and democratization.

MONTENEGRO – Daliborka Uljarević is a political scientist with extensive experience working with international organizations, media and NGOs in Montenegro. She is Executive Director of the Centre for Civic Education. Stevo Muk is a lawyer with a long track record of work in civil sector in Montenegro in various capacities. He is president of the Managing Board of the Institute Alternative.

POLAND – Krzysztof Jasiewicz is currently the William P. Ames Jr. Professor in Sociology and Anthropology at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. In the 1990s, he was the director of electoral studies at the Polish Academy of Sciences’ Institute for Political Studies.

ROMANIA – Laura Stefan and Sorin Ionita are analysts associated with the Romanian Academic Society and the think-tank Expert Forum (EFOR). Cristian Ghinea and Sabina Fati contributed valuable research to the preparation of this report.

RUSSIA – Robert Orttung is assistant director of the Institute for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies at The George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs, and a visiting fellow at the Center for Security Studies of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich.

SERBIA – Misha Savić is a Belgrade-based reporter for Bloomberg News. A Knight International Journalism Fellow, Mr. Savić also worked for the Associated Press for 15 years, reporting on the breakup of Yugoslavia and post conflict developments in Southeastern Europe.

SLOVAKIA – Grigorij Mesežnikov is president of the Institute for Public Aff airs (IVO) in Bratislava. He is the author and editor of numerous publications on Slovakia’s political development and party system, including IVO’s annual Global Report on the State of Society in Slovakia. Miroslav Kollár is a senior analyst at IVO and a coeditor of the Global Report on the State of Society in Slovakia. He writes frequently about the media, culture, and the church. Michal Vašečka serves as an assistant professor at the Faculty of Social Studies of Masaryk University in Brno. He is the author of numerous works on civil society and ethnic minorities.

SLOVENIA – Damjan Lajh is associate professor at the Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Ljubljana, and a researcher in the Center for Political Science Research at the same faculty.

TAJIKISTAN – Payam Foroughi is a Research and Teaching Fellow at the OSCE Academy in Bishkek.

TURKMENISTAN – Annette Bohr is an associate fellow of the Russian and Eurasia Program at the Institute of International Affairs in London (Chatham House). She is the author or coauthor of two monographs and numerous articles on Central Asian politics, contemporary history, and ethnic and language policies.

UKRAINE – Dr. Oleksandr Sushko is a research director at the Institute for Euro-Atlantic Cooperation in Kyiv, Ukraine. Dr. Olena Prystayko is a research fellow at the EU-Russia Centre in Brussels, Belgium.

UZBEKISTAN – Bruce Pannier has been covering events in Central Asia for Radio Free Europe/ Radio Liberty since 1997. He has been a frequent visitor to the region since 1990.