Our Board and Staff | Freedom House

Our Board and Staff

Freedom House is led by President Michael J. Abramowitz. The daily work of the organization is conducted by its approximately 150 staff members in Washington, New York, and field offices around the world.

The organization's non-partisan Board of Trustees is comprised of prominent business and labor leaders, former diplomats and senior government officials, scholars, and journalists. They all share a steadfast commitment to the mission of Freedom House and to the belief that the promotion of democracy and human rights is essential for international peace.

Board of Trustees

Michael Chertoff, Chair
Peter BassTreasurer

Carol C. Adelman
Zainab Al-Suwaij
Goli Ameri
David E. Birenbaum
Ellen Blackler
Dennis C. Blair
Jørgen Ejbøl
Martin Etchevers
Robert Keane
Jim Kolbe
Faith Morningstar
Monde Muyangwa
Sushma Palmer
Maurice A. Perkins
Andrew Prozes
Thomas Staudt

Executive Staff

Michael J. Abramowitz, President
Lisa Dickieson, Senior Vice President, International Programs
Arch Puddington, Distinguished Fellow for Democracy Studies
Mark MoyerChief Financial Officer
Alexis Schuler, Vice President, Advocacy and Communications


Senior Staff

Laura Adams, Senior Director, Program Strategy, Development and Learning
Marc Behrendt, Director, Europe and Eurasia programs
Annie Wilcox Boyajian, Director of Advocacy
Paul Graham, Project Director, Southern Africa
Danya Greenfield, Senior Program Manager for Lifeline
Brian Hill, Director of Development
Vytis Jurkonis, Project Director, Vilnius office
Jin Kim, Director of Finance
Sheryl Mendez, Senior Program Manager, Emergency Assistance Programs 
Mindy Michels, Director of Emergency Assistance Programs
Sofya OrloskySenior Program Manager, Eurasia programs
Sarah Repucci, Senior Director for Research and Analysis
Nate Schenkkan,  Director for Special Research
Adrian Shahbaz, Research Director, Technology and Democracy
Jennifer Stapleton, Director of Communications
Jon Temin, Director, Africa programs
David Timberman, , Director, Asia programs
Mai Truong, Research Director, Management and Strategy
Deborah Ullmer, Director, Latin America and the Caribbean programs
Matthew Schaaf, Project Director (Ukraine)
Urooj Arshad, Senior Program Manager, Dignity for All
Eleanor Krahenbuhl, Development Manager